Hurry and Gain Admission into Caleb University, Lagos. All Courses are Accredited. Call Oluchi on 08022054234 for Your Admission Forms. Closing Date is Feb 6th 2021.

National Public Holidays In Nigeria for 2021

Every year, there is this natural crave for public holidays amongst employees, this year is again loaded with public holidays and for sure workers and private individuals are already making plans on how to spend the holidays with their spouses or families. Most workers usually have a list of public holidays approved by the Federal government of Nigeria at the beginning of the year so they could plan their annual leave to coincide with the public holiday, which makes it even more splendid

Everyone looks forward to every possible national public holidays in Nigeria be it state or Federal government approved. Though most organizations in Nigeria only respects the Federal public holidays, except for civil servants of the state that respects both Federal and state holidays. While some organizations would only automatically observe holidays that banks observe.

Please note that it is customary in Nigeria to give extra holiday for any public holiday that falls into the weekend. That is to say, any public holiday that falls on the weekend, it is usually pushed to Monday.

CHECK:  Scheme of Work For Basic Science JSS 3 (First Term, Second Term & Third Term)

In this post, we shall be giving you the full breakdown of all national public holidays in Nigeria for 2021 as well as states and world recognized public holidays like the May 1st known as workers or Labour day and so on.

National Public Holidays In Nigeria for 2021 1

Approved National Public Holidays In Nigeria for Year 2021

Date   Name of Public Holiday Type of Public Holiday
1 Jan Wednesday New Year’s Day Public Holiday
8 Mar Sunday Women’s Day Observance
20 Mar Friday March Equinox Season
22 Mar Sunday Mothering Sunday Observance
10 Apr Friday Good Friday Public Holiday
11 Apr Saturday Holy Saturday Observance, Christian
12 Apr Sunday Easter Sunday Observance, Christian
13 Apr Monday Easter Monday Public Holiday
1 May Friday Workers’ Day Public Holiday
24 May Sunday Id el Fitr Public Holiday
25 May Monday Id el Fitr additional holiday Public Holiday
27 May Wednesday Children’s Day Observance
12 Jun Friday Democracy Day Public Holiday
20 Jun Saturday June Solstice Season
21 Jun Sunday Father’s Day Observance
31 Jul Friday Id el Kabir Public Holiday
1 Aug Saturday Id el Kabir additional holiday Public Holiday
20 Aug Thursday Al-Hijra Local holiday
22 Sep Tuesday September Equinox Season
1 Oct Thursday National Day Public Holiday
29 Oct Thursday Id el Maulud Public Holiday
21 Dec Monday December Solstice Season
22 Dec Tuesday Sambisa Memorial Day Local holiday
24 Dec Thursday Christmas Eve Observance, Christian
25 Dec Friday Christmas Day Public Holiday
26 Dec Saturday Boxing Day Public Holiday
31 Dec Thursday New Year’s Eve Observance
CHECK:  Top 10 Financial Institutions In Nigeria That Give Loans Without Collateral

The above are the national public holidays in Nigeria approved by the federal government and this is binding on all public and privately owned establishments operating in Nigeria. Note that that there are other public holidays celebrated by the world not listed in this post, in such situation, the company is at liberty to either observe the public holiday or do otherwise.

There are also some states public holidays observed by companies within the states only however, most financial institutions are exempted from observing the such public holiday, rather state owned establishments and corporations stay at home in such scenario.

CHECK:  Rahama Sadau: Phone Number, Biography, Age & Net-worth

In summary, the number of public holidays in Nigeria is 30. You can plan your leave alongside your family if you are married, summer holidays or tours within these period to get the best out of it. Happy holiday!

Leave a Reply

How To Gain Admission Without JAMB. Click SUBSCRIBE After Watching For More Admission Updates.
error: Schoolings is protecting this content !!